I couldn’t get an actual picture of the Universidad shaking, so I figured a picture of myself after the quake, showing that I am quite all right (although tired), would have to do.

Today was the most interesting by far. Not many people I know can say that they’ve experienced an earthquake, especially not one at a 7.6. All right, so I was quite a ways away from the epicenter.. but still the shocks were felt greatly. Let me tell you the story:

Just before 9:00 a.m.,  I was sitting in Advanced Spanish with my classmates. Profe was in front of the classroom teaching us, when all of a sudden I saw her grab the half-open classroom door and start shouting: “Oh my gosh, oh my gosh!”

Is it bad that I had no idea what was going on at first?

The glass building we were in began to shake and shake, and my professor continued to shout. “Outside, chicos, outside!” She led the way out of the classroom as us students hurried out after her.

We managed to get down the hallway to the top of the staircase (yes, we were of course on the second floor..), but we could not make our way down the stairs as the building was shaking far too much. Around me I could hear the glass trembling, and overhead the lights swung back and forth. Somewhere down below we heard glass break.

The group of us held on to one another and to the railing until the tremors subsided. As soon as we could, we ran down the stairs, out of the building, and onto the soccer field. My heart was racing fast and my hands quivered. Profe said to us that that was the strongest earthquake she has ever experienced living in Costa Rica. (Later I found out from my papá tica that it was actually the second worst in Costa Rican history.)

We spent the rest of class on the soccer field, and actually continued on with our lesson. At one point we made our way back into the building to grab our bags, but we were ushered out within a few minutes as the aftershocks decided to hit just as we went back inside.

Needless to say, today was one I won’t be forgetting for a while. I am very grateful to God that all of us were okay, and that it wasn’t any worse. Although there is damage near the epicenter, there were few deaths, and I am grateful also for that. I am praying that any other earthquakes we get while I am here in Heredia are just small ones! One large one was enough for me for my entire lifetime.